Professional Engineer – License Information
Starting May 28, 2010, state law requires all applicants seeking licensure in Wisconsin as professional engineers to meet new education, work experience and examination requirements.
The new requirements may be found in 2009 Wisconsin Act 350.
Applications for a professional engineer license under the previous registration requirements cannot be accepted by the Department after May 27, 2010.
To obtain a professional engineer license by examination:
1) Satisfy ONE of the following education and experience requirements:
a. Graduation from an accredited program approved by the examining board as of satisfactory standing in an engineering course of not less than 4 years, together with an additional 4 years of experience in engineering work of a character satisfactory to the examining board and indicating that the applicant is competent to be placed in responsible charge of such work;
b. graduation from an approved technical college approved by the examining board in an engineering-related course of study of not less than 2 years and at least 6 years of engineering experience.
Foreign Education Evaluation: All education received outside the United States must be evaluated before submitting it to the Department with your application. The Professional Engineer Section will accept education evaluations only from NCEES Credentials Evaluations. No other credential evaluation services will be accepted. No credit will be allowed for education submitted without an educational evaluation. For more information about NCEES credential evaluations, visit the NCEES web site to find out how to apply online, or write to:
Credentials Evaluations Services
PO Box 1686
Clemson SC 29633‑1686
Note that if the application data is not submitted online, there will be an additional fee.
To contact NCEES by telephone, call (865) 654‑6824.
2) Pass the fundamentals of engineering (FE) and the principles & practices of engineering (PE) examinations.
The Department has contracted with Professional Credential Services (PCS) to conduct the examinations. You must register on-line with PCS by visiting their web site at http://www.pcshq.com
FUNDAMENTALS OF ENGINEERING (FE) EXAMINATION: To be eligible to take the fundamentals of engineering examination, an applicant must be at least a senior in an accredited B.S. engineering program. Information on the examination content is available on the NCEES web site. You may take the FE after you meet this requirement without applying to the engineering board for authorization.
PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICE (PE) EXAMINATION To take the principles and practice of engineering examination, you must satisfy all the following requirements:
a. Satisfy ONE of the education & experience requirements outlined in step 1 above.
b. Submit an application to the examining board for review. A complete application includes:
Applications must be reviewed by the examining board before the Department can authorize you to take the PE. An application for examination must be filed with the board no later than 90 days before the scheduled date for the examination. An applicant applying for reexamination shall file the application for reexamination no later than 45 days before the scheduled date for the next examination.
c. Register online with PCS by visiting their web site at: www.pchq.com
RE-EXAM applicants must register on-line with PCS by the deadline date to be scheduled for the examination.
3) Notify the Department that you have passed the FE and PE exams by submitting Form 2727, Application Packet Addendum.
The Department will notify you after your license has been issued.
To obtain a license by comity (if you hold an unexpired license in another state):
An applicant may apply for registration if he or she holds an unexpired registration in another state in which registration requirements are not lower than those in Wisconsin. The applicant must have passed the NCEES fundamentals of engineering and the principles and practice examination and have 8 years of engineering experience.
Applicants may apply using NCEES Council Record or by direct application.
If applying by NCEES Council Record
1. Make a request to NCEES asking that they forward your Council Record to the Department.
2. Submit an application. A complete application includes:
Please read Form 2449, Instruction Packet for Professional Credential before completing the forms.
If applying by direct application
1. Submit an application. A complete application includes:
Form 475, Verification of Examination or Licensure from each state where you hold a current license
Form 470, Professional Engineer Applicant Reference from five licensed professional engineers
Form #2997, CE Tracking Sheet. Since January 1, 2012, comity applicants have been required to submit proof they have completed 30 hours of continuing education within the two-year period immediately prior to application.
$82.00 application fee
Please read Form 2449, Instruction Packet for Professional Credential before completing any of the forms.
Applicants applying for licensure under comity may be eligible for a temporary permit to proceed with a pending project during the time it takes to process the application for registration. An applicant desiring a permit must include a letter specifically requesting the permit which includes a description of the project (location, approximate size and cost), a copy of their current registration card from the original state of registration and the temporary permit fee. When filling out Form 1736, Application for Professional Engineer Credential, the credential fee and the temporary permit fee must accompany the request for a temporary permit. The temporary permit is optional and is not a requirement for licensure.
If you hold a current license in another state, please have Form 475, Verification of Examination or Registration completed by the state board where you are currently licensed.
To reinstate a license that has been expired more than 5 years:
If you wish to renew your license, but more than 5 years has passed since the renewal date, you must submit:
Applicants for reinstatement may not submit NCEES Council Record in place of the experience record (form 463) or references (form 2490). Please submit only the forms provided by the department.
Please read Form 2287, Instructions for Credential Reinstatement before completing any of the forms.
CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORIZATION:
A firm, partnership or corporation requestig a certificate of authorization shall submit fees and the completed application to the department. Please click on Certificate of Authority – Architectural, Engineering or Designer of Engineering Systems for more information and to obtain the application.