Barber - Continuing Education
March 2015 Renewal
Starting with the March 2015 renewal, barber licensees must complete 4 hours of continuing education in order to renew their active license. For the 3/31/2015 renewal, the continuing education must be completed during the time period from 4/1/2013 to 3/31/2015.
EXCEPTIONS: If you are issued your license for the first time on or after 4/1/2013 (this does not include transitioning your previous barbering and cosmetology license to a barber only license), you are not required to complete any continuing education for the 3/31/2015 renewal. A licensee who has completed 8 years of practice as a licensed barber, or as a licensed cosmetologist under chs. BC 1 to 11 – including combinations thereof – is not required to satisfy any continuing education requirements for a barber license.
Click on the following link to access Chapter SPS 50.420 - SPS 50.424 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code, which outlines the continuing education requirements: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/sps/professional_services/050/50.
The four hours of Barber continuing education (CE) required for the 2013-2015 biennium must be in courses including any of the following content:
A) Business management (including financial business planning), customer service, and computer courses which may be utilized in the Barber profession;
B) Any topic covered in Barbering administrative code SPS 50 - http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/sps/professional_services/050/50
C) Any topic covering the principles and practices of Barbering as defined in Wisconsin Statute § 454.20 (2): “Barbering” means, for compensation, arranging, styling, dressing, shampooing, cleansing, curling, dyeing, tinting, coloring, bleaching, waving, cutting, shaving, trimming, relaxing, singeing, or performing similar work upon the hair of the head, neck, or face of any person by any means. “Barbering” does not include the removal of a person’s hair at the root or the application of temporary or permanent eyelash extensions to the eyelashes of a person.
Continuing Eduation (CE) Test-Out Examination
Licensees who have not completed the continuing educaiton requirements may take and pass the continuing education (CE) test-out exam in order to renew their barber, cosmetologist, manicurist, aesthetician, electrologist or manager license.
If a licensee holds more than one of the above names licenses, the licensee is only required to pass the CE test-out exam once and it will satisfy requirements for all licenses held by the individual.
Applicants who wish to complete the CE test-out exam shall submit the Application for Barbering and Cosmetology Continuing Education Test-Out Examination (form #2946) along with the examination fee of $75.00 (check or money order made payable to the Department of Safety and Professional Services). To access the application form, click on the link below:
CE Test-Out Examination Application (form #2946)